Kent Region

Campaign for Real Ale

Campaign for Real Ale

George

The Street
Egerton
TN27 9DJ
Emailmoc.notregetaegroegeht@ofni Telephone(01233) 756599
Real AleReal FireFamily FriendlyGardenAccommodationLunchtime MealsEvening MealsSeparate BarDisabled AccessParkingSmokingRestaurantFunction RoomDog FriendlyWiFiLive Music
Opening times: Mon and Tue 11:00-22:00; Wed–Fri 11:00-23:00; Sat 09:00-23:00; Sun 09:00-22:00

See more about this pub on WhatPub, CAMRA's national pub guide.

Egerton is one of the most picturesque villages in Kent. The inn was built in 1576 and licensed in 1729. In 1780, the site was used by Lord Cornwallis for the collection of rents and during WWII by the RCAF as their local. Several pilots' signatures still survive today. During restoration, it was discovered that some of the inn's plastering was made of cow-dung and straw. The timbers are mainly from sailing ships, and some of the beams have guinea holes in them. The pub reopened in September 2016 after an extensive renovation project. Having been closed for a year, it was taken over by Dane and Sarah Allchorne - the team behind The Milk House in Sissinghurst. After being closed for two years subsequently relaunched in July 2021 again with a reversion to its original name and reportedly with more of a pubby feel than previously. There are local beers, cask ales, a wide selection of wines by the glass and a range of menus with something for everyone. Please telephone for kitchen operating hours.